May 18, 2019 all-day
Cipriani Wall Street
55 Wall Street
New York
NY 10015
George Foster Peabody Awards @ Cipriani Wall Street

78th annual George Foster Peabody Awards

May 18 – Eric appears as chair of the board of jurors at the 78th annual George Foster Peabody Awards, held in New York City.

Among the many things we claim about media, it is, ultimately, a place for storytelling. Through broadcasting and digital media, we invigorate each other through the power of stories. The Peabody Awards exist to recognize when storytelling is done well; when stories matter.

These are stories that engage viewers as citizens as well as consumers. By recognizing specific programming, the Peabody Awards spotlight programs that demonstrate how media can defend the public interest, encourage empathy with others, and teach us to expand our understanding of the world around us. Such media achieves the highest standards and exists across genre and media platforms, across regions and borders. We are distinct from other industry awards, recognizing small, local programming alongside programs with larger production budgets. We award the best of the best.

When the first Peabody Award was given out in 1941, broadcasting meant radio. Before the decade was over, the scope of the award grew to include television, and by the late 20th century, that was redefined through cable. Early into the 21st century, we began to celebrate exemplary digital content, which continues to disrupt and reimagine our experience of stories.

There are now over 500 scripted television shows, new platforms and exhibition spaces, a flood of podcasts, and a wealth of quality digital storytelling. Throughout the over 75-year history of this most prestigious prize, our goal has remained the same: to recognize stories that matter.- Dr. Jeffrey P. Jones

Location: Cipriani Wall Street, 55 Wall Street, New York, NY 10015.