November 5, 2016 @ 6:00 pm
Distinguished Alumni Award in Journalism

The Distinguished Alumni Award in Journalism is presented by The Media School at Indiana University to honor former students who have become leaders in journalism and related media fields.

Those who majored in journalism or related media disciplines, took significant coursework in journalism or related media fields, or had ties to the journalism program while serving in prominent roles for IU student media are eligible for consideration.

Our 2016 recipients: 

  • Kenneth A. Beckley, BS’62 (Radio/TV)
    Broadcaster; Marketing Executive; CEO, Indiana University Alumni Association (retired)
  • Bonnie J. Brownlee, BA’72, MA’75 (Journalism)
    Associate Professor Emerita, Indiana University School of Journalism
  • Eric Deggans, BA’90 (Journalism)
    Author;  TV critic, NPR
  • Andy Hall, BA’82 (Journalism)
    Founder/Executive Director, Wisconsin Center for Investigative Journalism
  • Bob Shanks, BS’54 (Radio/TV)
    Vice President, ABC Programming (retired)